Skip to content

Resources

We hope that you may find these resources helpful and interesting. 

If you have suggestions for resources which could be added to the list, please let us know at sacredlandscapes@st-andrews.ac.uk

Architecture & Conservation

Architectural Heritage Fund: Scotland’s Churches: A Scaling Problem: https://ahfund.org.uk/news/blog/scotlands-churches-a-scaling-problem/

Architects Accredited in Building Conservation: https://www.aabc-register.co.uk/

Institution of Civil Engineers (Conservation Accreditation Register of Engineers): https://www.ice.org.uk/download-centre/conservation-accreditation-register-of-engineers

Owen, O, ed, HEACS Report with Recommendations on the Long-Term Conservation of the Ecclesiastical Heritage in a Time of Demographic Change (Historic Environment Advisory Council for Scotland, Edinburgh, 2009): ecclesiastical.pdf (hrballiance.org.uk)

Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (Building Conservation Accreditation): https://www.rics.org/surveyor-careers/career-development/accreditations/building-conservation-accreditation

The Institute of Conservation (Conservation Register): https://www.icon.org.uk/resource/conservation-register.html

The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (Accreditation in Conservation Architecture): https://rias.org.uk/for-architects/conservation-accreditation

Community

Community Ownership Support Service: Your Church, Your Community: https://dtascommunityownership.org.uk/sites/default/files/DTA%20Scotland%20Your%20Church%20Your%20Community%20Guidance.pdf

National Council for Voluntary Organisations: Closing your charity: https://www.ncvo.org.uk/help-and-guidance/closing-your-charity/

Stewarding Loss: https://www.stewardingloss.com/

Contents & Interiors

Church Monuments Society: https://churchmonumentssociety.org/

Church Recording Society: https://www.churchrecordingsociety.org.uk/

Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi (Mediaeval Stained Glass in Great Britain): https://www.cvma.ac.uk/

“Historic restoration of 19th century organ” in Ecclesiastical Heritage World: https://ecclesiasticalandheritageworld.co.uk/news/1392-historic-restoration-of-19th-century-organ

“How Scotland’s church organs are on the brink of being lost forever” by Sandra Dick in The Herald: https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/24154220.scotlands-church-organs-brink-lost-forever/

Sowne of Organe: Historic Organs of Scotland: https://sowneoforgane.com/

The Corpus of Anglo-Saxon Stone Sculpture: https://www.ascorpus.ac.uk/index.php

The Corpus of Romanesque Sculpture in Britain & Ireland: https://www.crsbi.ac.uk/

Ecclesiastical & Theological

Church of Scotland: Disposal of Redundant Churches https://www.churchofscotland.org.uk/__data/assets/pdf_file/0005/3020/disposal_redundant_churches.pdf

Church of Scotland: Legacies of Slavery: https://www.churchofscotland.org.uk/about-us/equality-diversity-and-inclusion-group/legacies-of-slavery

Church of Scotland Ordinal & Service Book (including Closure of a Church Building)

Learning from Loss: Reflections on Futures for Fife’s Former Churches

Methodist Church in Scotland: Updated Guidance on Closed Churches: https://methodistchurchinscotland.net/2023/11/updated-guidance-on-closed-church-buildings/

‘No congregation, no church’: How Scotland Lost the Faith, John Lloyd (Financial Times): https://www.ft.com/content/a690a5b6-7c4a-4501-9974-a7502327b5c8

Places of Worship Forum: https://www.befs.org.uk/policy-topics/places-of-worship-forum/

Presbytery of Fife (Church of Scotland): Historic Churches Working Group Report

Sacred Landscapes of Fife Project: https://sacredlandscapes.org/

Stewarding Loss: https://www.stewardingloss.com/

Funding

Architectural Heritage Fund: Scotland’s Churches: A Scaling Problem: https://ahfund.org.uk/news/blog/scotlands-churches-a-scaling-problem/

Benefact Trust: https://benefacttrust.co.uk/

Ecclesiastical: Fundraising: https://www.ecclesiastical.com/church/fundraising/funds/

National Churches Trust: https://www.nationalchurchestrust.org/get-support/support-organisations/scottish-redundant-churches-trust

National Churches Trust: Large Grants: https://www.nationalchurchestrust.org/get-support/grants/large-grants

National Lottery Community Fund: https://www.tnlcommunityfund.org.uk/

Pilgrim Trust: Grants: https://www.thepilgrimtrust.org.uk/preservation-and-conservation-grants/places-of-worship/

Heritage & History

Canmore: National Record of the Historic Environment: https://canmore.org.uk/

Canmore: National Record of the Historic Environment (Contributions): https://canmore.org.uk/contributions

Dove, Giles W, “Saints, Cults & Dedications in Mediaeval Fife”, University of St Andrews MPhil Thesis, 1988: https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/96709406.pdf 

Fife Council: Built & Natural Heritage: https://www.fife.gov.uk/kb/docs/articles/planning-and-building2/built-and-natural-heritage

Fife Historic Buildings Trust: https://fifehistoricbuildings.org.uk/

Fife Historic Buildings Trust: Churches Viability Report

Future for Religious Heritage Conference September 2024 – Religious Heritage in Transition: Challenges & Solutions: https://www.frh-europe.org/events/conferences/frh-conference-2024-religious-heritage-in-transition-challenges-and-solutio

Future for Religious Heritage Survey of Attitudes to Religious Heritage: https://www.frh-europe.org/european-citizens-support-religious-heritage-81-of-europeans-believe-that-religious-heritage-is-key-for-the-present-and-future-of-their-community/

Haynes N, HEACS Research Report on the Extent of the Ecclesiastical Heritage in Scotland (Historic Environment Advisory Council for Scotland,2008):https://www.frh-europe.org/cms/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/2008-Ecclesiastical-Heritage-of-Scotland-Haynes.pdf

Heritage Trust Network: A Future for Your Church: https://heritagetrustnetwork.org.uk/a-future-for-your-church/

Historic Churches Scotland: https://historicchurches.scot/

Historic Environment Scotland: https://www.historicenvironment.scot/

Historic Environment Scotland: Places for Prayer: New Life & Changing Spaces https://www.historicenvironment.scot/archives-and-research/online-exhibitions/places-for-prayer/new-life-and-changing-spaces/

Historic Religious Buildings Alliance: https://www.hrballiance.org.uk/

Learning from Loss: Reflections on Futures for Fife’s Former Churches

‘No congregation, no church’: How Scotland Lost the Faith, John Lloyd (Financial Times): https://www.ft.com/content/a690a5b6-7c4a-4501-9974-a7502327b5c8

Sacred Landscapes of Fife Project: https://sacredlandscapes.org/

Scotland’s Churches Trust: https://www.scotlandschurchestrust.org.uk/

Scotland’s Churches Trust (Recording Scotland’s Closing Churches): https://www.scotlandschurchestrust.org.uk/blog/recording-scotlands-closing-churches/

Scottish Church History Society: https://www.scottishchurchhistory.org/

Scottish Pilgrim Routes Forum: https://www.sprf.org.uk/

Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings (Scotland’s Churches: History of Closure): https://www.spab.org.uk/whats-on/lectures/scotlands-churches-history-closure-0

Society of Antiquaries of Scotland: Scottish Archaeological Research Framework: https://www.socantscot.org/research-projects/scarf/

The Corpus of Anglo-Saxon Stone Sculpture: https://www.ascorpus.ac.uk/index.php

The Corpus of Romanesque Sculpture in Britain & Ireland: https://www.crsbi.ac.uk/